Tuition

The tuition rates at Great Bay Community College are set by the board of Trustees of the Community College System of New Hampshire and are subject to change without notice.

The following rates have been established for the 2019-20 academic year:

Residency

Per credit Tuition Rate

In-State (New Hampshire)

$215 *

New England Regional Student Program **

$323 **

Out-of-State

$490

*Evening and fully online classes are all offered at the In-State rate regardless of residency

**Must be admitted into a degree or certificate program to qualify for this rate

These rates have been in effect since fall 2018 and are only 2.4% higher than in 2011.

Great Price

Great Bay Community College provides a quality education at an affordable price. You can save thousands on your college education by taking the first two years at Great Bay Community College.

Comparative Tuition & Fee Costs, 2018-2019

Per Academic Year for NH Residents

Franklin Pierce College

$ 36,900

Keene State College (in-state)

$ 14,212

Plymouth State University (in-state)

$ 14,099

Southern NH University

$ 31,136

UNH Durham (in-state)

$ 18,499

UNH Manchester (in-state)

$ 15,265

Great Bay Community College (in-state)

$ 7,680

*Integrated Postsecondary Education (nces.ed.gov/ipeds)

 

The following people qualify for In-State tuition

  • Students who have lived within New Hampshire for at least one year.
  • Members of the U.S. Armed Forces (also their spouses or children) stationed in NH under military orders (or stationed in a contiguous state but temporarily living in NH) so long as said orders remain in effect and residence in NH is continued.
  • Military personnel who are residents of another state but choose NH as their residence within 90 days of being discharged from the military.
  • Veterans enrolled under the Veterans Educational Assistant Improvement Acts of 2010.
  • Veterans as defined under RSA 21:50, I, or a covered individual, as defined under Chapter 30 or 33 of Title 38 of the United States Code using educational assistance benefits provided under federal law while living in New Hampshire and enrolled in a degree/certificate program.
  • A spouse or child using educational assistance benefits provided pursuant to Chapter 30 or 33 of Title 38 of the United States Code while living in New Hampshire and enrolled in a degree/certificate program. 
  • Students enrolled in any of Great Bay Community College’s degree or certificate programs (effective Fall 2020) who live within a 50-mile radius of either the Portsmouth or Rochester Campus.

You must satisfy all the following to qualify for the New England Regional tuition rate

  • Be a resident of Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island, or Vermont
  • Indicate eligibility on your admission application.
  • Be accepted into a degree/certificate program.

Out of State Students

If you do not satisfy the requirements for In-State or New England Regional rates, then you will be charged the Out-of-State tuition rate.

Change of Residency

If you have been classified as Out-of-State or New England Regional for tuition purposes, and you can now satisfy NH residency requirements, you will want to apply to the college Admissions Office for a change of residency status by the following dates:

  • September 1 for the subsequent Fall semester
  • January 1 for the subsequent Spring semester
  • June 1 for the subsequent summer semester

Directed/Independent Study Courses

Directed/Independent Study courses follow the same registration and credit fees charges as other courses and will be charged the day rate and based on residency. Academic Instruction fees will also be charged, if appropriate.

Fees (What They Pay For)

Required Fees

Student Comprehensive Fee (per credit)$ 25.00
Academic Instruction Fee (see below)$110.00**
Placement Testing (Accuplacer)FREE
Application FeeFREE
International Admissions Fee$100.00
Nursing Clinical Surcharge (per semester)$ 500.00
Nursing Clinical Makeup Fee (for missed clinical obligation)$40.00
Surgical Technology Clinical Surcharge$ 500.00
Graduation FeeFREE
Transcript FeeFREE

Other Fees

 
Deferred Payment Fee – Monthly Payment Plans (per semester)$ 30.00
Payment Plan – Missed Scheduled Payment Fee (per semester)$50.00
Diploma Replacement Fee$ 20.00
Replacement College ID Card Fee (First card is free)$ 10.00
College Level Examination Program Administrative Fee$ 25.00*
Proctor Exam Fee (non-CCSNH students)$ 50.00
Protested Checks$35.00

*Military fee waiver may be available. More information available here.

Student Comprehensive Fee

$25 per credit – This fee is charged for every credit in each credit-bearing course regardless of the number of credits taken.

**Academic Instruction Fee (Sometimes called Lab Fee)

An additional fee will be charged for all Laboratory/Clinical/Practicum or other similar experiences. This fee is calculated by subtracting the number of lecture hours from the number of credit hours and multiplying the remainder by $110. This fee will be added to the normal tuition charge for that course. (See example.) Fee will be charged to all students with no exceptions.

Example

Lec

Lab

Credit

BIOL110 A&P I (4 credits – 3 lecture hours = 1 x 110 = $110)

3

3

4

Placement Testing (Accuplacer)

Most students are required to take placement testing before registering for classes. See your advisor for more information.

Nursing Clinical Surcharge

All nursing students taking clinical courses will be charged a nursing clinical surcharge of $500 per semester. This surcharge assists in covering the expenses associated with clinical classes due to The New Hampshire Board of Nursing requirements of a student/faculty ratio of 8:1. This fee is in addition to the academic instruction fee.

Surgical Technology Clinical Surcharge

All Surgical Technology students taking clinical courses will be charged a surgical technology clinical surcharge of $500 per semester for SURG123G, SURG215G, and SURG225G.  This surcharge is designed to assist in covering the expenses associated with clinical classes.  This fee is in addition to the academic instruction fee.

Protested Checks

A fee of $35.00 will be charged for any check protested or returned for nonsufficient funds.

Credit by Examination

A fee of $25.00 per credit, plus all direct costs associated with providing a laboratory portion of an exam, will be charged to a student wishing to receive credit by examination.

Credit for Prior Learning/Experiential Learning

Students will be assessed a fee based on 50% of the current tuition rate on the total credits awarded (e.g., for 12 credits awarded: 0.50 x current tuition rate x 12 credits).

Library Fines

Students will be assessed a fine of $.25 per item/per day for all overdue library materials. The cost of replacement is charged for unreturned materials.

Tuition Deposit

Applicants accepted as students in Nursing, Surgical Technology, and Veterinary Technology only must pay a non-refundable tuition deposit of $100 within thirty days of notification of acceptance or prior to term start. The deposit reserves a place for the student and is applied toward the first semester’s tuition.

Payment and Refund Policies

How to make payment

Pay your tuition and fees through the Student Information System (Online Resources)

Enterprise Monthly Payment Plan through the Student Information System (Online Resources)

Billing for tuition and fees is coordinated through the College’s Business Office. Electronic payment reminders are periodically emailed to the student’s Great Bay Community College email account.

Payment, or arrangement for payment, must be made by the deadline listed on the Registration Policies and Deadlines form (Registration Documents & Forms). If payment, or arrangement for payment, is not made by the deadline, students may be administratively withdrawn. Students who register after the deadline have until end of business day to make payment arrangements and will remain responsible for tuition and fees.

Students awaiting scholarships or financial aid awards to cover tuition may request a deferred payment through the Business Office subject to the approval of the President. Students who have already registered should log into SIS to check their accounts and review any applicable financial aid.

Discover, Diners Club, JCB, Visa, MasterCard, check, or cash are accepted as payment.

Payment plans are available through the Student Information System.

The Registrar verifies veteran registrations after the Add/Drop period of the semester. Veterans are responsible for payment of tuition and fees pending the receipt of benefits.

Adult learners aged 65 and over and who are NH residents may enroll in credit courses at a tuition cost of 50% at Great Bay Community College two days prior to the start of classes if space is available. The Academic Instruction Fee and other fees must be paid by the student. Full tuition and other fees will be charged for all noncredit, enrichment, professional development, and recertification classes.

The following clause is included on college forms, with areas for student signature, signifying their understanding of their financial obligations.

“I agree that by registering for courses within the Community College System of New Hampshire (CCSNH), I am financially obligated for ALL costs related to the registered course(s).  Upon a drop or withdrawal, I agree that I will be responsible for all charges as noted in the student catalog and handbook.  I further understand that if I do not make payment in full, my account may be reported to the credit bureau and/or turned over to an outside collection agency.  I also agree to pay for the fees of any collection agency, which may be based on a percentage of the debt up to a maximum of 35%, and all additional costs and expenses, including any protested check fees, court filing costs and reasonable attorney’s fees, which will add significant costs to my account balance.”

The Institutional Refund Policy allows a 100% refund of tuition and fees for courses dropped within a specific range of dates governed by the start date of each course. After the end of each 100% refund period, no other refunds will be granted.

  • Students may request to appeal the Institutional Refund Policy due to extenuating circumstances which prohibited completion of course(s), or due to attendance related issues with a given semester.
  • Appeals for either circumstance must be submitted on the Tuition and Fee Adjustment Appeal form, with a written personal statement and any essential documentation to support the appeal (if applicable).
  • Appeals and accompanying documentation should be sent via email to the Vice President of Student Success & Enrollment Management, tfavara@ccsnh.edu.
  • Students receiving financial aid should speak with a Financial Aid Counselor before submitting the petition as its approval could affect current and future financial aid awards.
  • Requests for refunds will NOT be considered for classes in which the student received a grade.
  • The student should officially withdraw or be administratively withdrawn from classes before a petition is submitted.

Requests for refunds may result in a tuition refund or a tuition credit.

  • Illness or injury of a nature that significantly impacted the ability to continue attending class
  • Illness or injury of an immediate family member where the student is the primary care giver
  • Death of an immediate family member (Spouse/partner, parent, child, grandchild, sibling, grandparent)
  • Military deployment/call to active duty
  • Required, involuntary employment schedule changes
  • Lack of awareness of NECC’s refund policy and/or course drop/withdrawal deadline.
  • Choice to attend another institution without notifying NECC.
  • Student received a grade(s) for the course(s) in an appeal.
  • Letter from a licensed health care provider written on the provider’s letterhead containing the following information:
    • The general nature of the medical condition that prevented the student from attending class.
    • The approximate date of onset of the medical condition giving rise to the request, and the dates through which the condition continued.
    • The date on which it is anticipated that the student will be able to resume attending class.
  • Copy of death certificate or obituary of immediate family member
  • Copy of military orders
  • Letter from employer in official letterhead verifying involuntary employment changes with specific dates, signed and dated by supervisor.

Petitions presented without documentation will not be accepted.

Students who officially withdraw from the college or an individual course by the end of the fourteenth (14th) calendar day of the semester will receive a 100% refund of tuition, less nonrefundable fees. Students in classes that meet in a format shorter than the traditional semester (15-16 weeks) will have seven (7) calendar days from the designated start of the class to withdraw for a full refund. If the seventh (7th) or fourteenth (14th) calendar day falls on a weekend or holiday, the drop refund date will be the first business day following the weekend or holiday. Refunds can take two to four weeks to be processed. If the college cancels a class, tuition and Academic Instruction fees will be refunded. 

Exception: students in courses that meet for two weeks or fewer must drop by the end of the first day of the class in order to get a 100% refund.

Students registered for non-credit workshops/ professional training must withdraw in writing at least three business days prior to the first session to receive a full refund of tuition and fees. If the college cancels a class, tuition and Academic Instruction fees will be refunded.

To Choose a Refund Method (Including Electronic Funds Transfer to your bank account or transfer to a reloadable pre-paid card such as GreenDot, Serve, etc.):

1) Sign into the Student Information System.

2) Click on ‘Student’, ‘Student Account’, then ‘View and Pay Account’

a) When going into Enterprise for the first time you’ll be guided through some demographic info, some of which has automatically been transferred from SIS. If something is incorrect, please make a change in SIS before continuing or see a One Stop representative to correct your information.

3) Click on the ‘Manage Refunds’ button in the Refund section of your Dashboard.

4) Follow the on-screen instructions to set up your profile and choose your refund method.

5) When you’re done, remember to click Save.

6) To change your refund method, you may go through these steps again at any time.

We strongly encourage you to sign up for the EFT/Direct Deposit process as it is dramatically faster and more secure. If you have any questions about this new process please feel free to contact us via email.

Students who withdraw from school before the 60% point in a semester will have to repay a portion or all their Federal Pell Grant, Federal SEOG grant, and Federal Direct loans to the United States Department of Education. The exact amount required to be returned will vary depending on the amount of grant and loan money the student received and at what point in time the student withdraws from the College.

In addition, the student will be liable for the balance owed the College for tuition and fees. The student will receive a revised statement of account for the expenses incurred which will include the reduction and or loss of Federal Title IV funds.

Students who choose to withdraw from the College must complete a College Withdrawal Form. This form must be signed by the student and various campus offices and then be returned to the Registrar’s office.

Contact the Business Office at 603-427-7600 x7526 or GBCCBusinessOffice@ccsnh.edu for more information.