Advising & Transfer Center

Academic Advising

Mission

The goal of academic advising at Great Bay Community College is to assist students in creating academic plans that will help them achieve their educational goals with timely and financial efficiency.

Academic Advisor Responsibilities

Advisee Responsibilities

1. Treat all students with dignity and respect and maintain the confidentiality of all meetings.

1. Regularly schedule and arrive on time for academic advising appointments.

2. Be accessible via phone, email, and by appointment, responding to students in a timely manner.

2. Be prepared for your appointment by utilizing the tools provided. Examples include catalogs, degree sheets, college websites and academic calendars.

3. Create and maintain an interactive environment encouraging mutual trust and open communication.

3. Communicate openly and honestly with your academic advisor regarding issues that affect your educational goals and academic performance.

4. Provide students with the information and resources to promote academic progress.

4. Use advising folder to maintain a file with relevant academic materials.

5. Stay informed of current and changing rules, regulations and program requirements.

5. Stay informed by regularly logging into SIS, Canvas and checking your college email.

6. Refer students to services relevant to their individual needs.

6. Follow through with your academic advisor’s recommendations and contact your advisor if anything changes.

7. Encourage students to take responsibility for their academic and personal choices.

7. Use your time effectively, ask for help when you need it and accept responsibility for your own actions.

DegreeWorks

The degree audit tool, GBCC DegreeWorks, allows students and advisors to track academic progress towards graduation.  

What does DegreeWorks do?

  1. Shows what you have taken and what it counts for (in yellow)
  2. Shows what you are currently registered for (in blue)
  3. Shows what you still have left to complete (in red)
  4. Explore course options – description, required prerequisites and predicted schedule.
  5. Allows you to run a “What-If” Degree Evaluation for different majors

To Access

  1. Login to SIS
  2. Select Student
  3. Select Student Records
  4. Select GBCC Degree Works

Course Selection & Registration

Starting with your second semester you will meet with your program-specific advisor to select and then register for classes at the One Stop.  For specific dates, please see the current College Catalog or contact the Advising & Transfer Center.

Semester

Registration Opens

Classes Begin

Classes End

Spring SemesterBeginning of NovemberEnd of JanuaryBeginning of May
Fall SemesterEnd of MarchEnd of AugustMid-December
Summer SemesterEnd of MarchEnd of MayMid-August

Great Bay Community College Advisor Directory

In addition to the majors listed below, the Advising Center works with all new, returning Liberal Arts and Non-Matriculated students as well as PNSY Shipyard, and students seeking Transfer and Career Exploration.

Jenna Anand, 427-7771, 100G

Erica Brown, 427-7624, 100N

Maggie Duffy-Durkin, 427-7645, 100M

Deanna Friedman, 427-7627, 100L

Kathy Yazinka, 427-7648, 100K

GBCC ProgramAdvisorEmailPhoneOffice
Accounting or Business Administration or Management and MarketingLynda Bonneaulbonneau@ccsnh.edu427-7660413
Advanced Composites Manufacturing (ACM)Kurt Douglaskdouglas@ccsnh.edu427-7783R128
American StudiesDr. Rick Waltersrwalters@ccsnh.edu427-7670419
Analytics and Practical Data ScienceJohn Mannarinijmannarini@ccsnh.edu427-7714200B
Automotive TechnologyPaul Giulianopgiuliano@ccsnh.edu427-7740100J
BioengineeringDeb Audinodaudino@ccsnh.edu427-7659145A
Biological ScienceDr. Leslie Barberlbarber@ccsnh.edu427-7686144C
BiotechnologyDeb Audinodaudino@ccsnh.edu427-7659145A
ChemistryDr. Mike Gordonmgordon@ccsnh.edu427-7689144A
Computer Numeric Control (CNC)Kurt Douglaskdouglas@ccsnh.edu427-7660R128
Computer Technologies or Software Development or Linux and ProgrammingMeg Prescottmprescott@ccsnh.edu427-7664427
Criminal Justice or Homeland SecurityEric Kulbergekulberg@ccsnh.edu427-7667307
Cyber SecurityMike Harrisonmharrison@ccsnh.edu427-7672409
Kevin Behnkekbehnke@ccsnh.edu427-7671407
Digital Media CommunicationsDr. Annette Cohenacohen@ccsnh.edu427-7665313
Early Childhood EducationAnita Frenchafrench@ccsnh.edu427-7668415
EnglishDr. Rick Waltersrwalters@ccsnh.edu427-7670419
Dr. Emily Hinnovehinnov@ccsnh.edu427-7721423
Cindy Waltoncwalton@ccsnh.edu427-7669421
Engineering Science and MathJohn Mannarinijmannarini@ccsnh.edu427-7714200B
Wendy Morrowwmorrow@ccsnh.edu427-7738206C
Environmental ScienceDavid Wilsondwilson@ccsnh.edu427-7731144
Fine ArtsDr. Annette Cohenacohen@ccsnh.edu427-7665313
HistoryJordan Fanslerjfansler@ccsnh.edu427-7662206A
Hospitality Management or Event & Planning Mgmt and Hotel/Restaurant Mgmt or Spa MgmtDawn Comitodcomito@ccsnh.edu427-7657200C
Information Systems TechnologiesMike Harrisonmharrison@ccsnh.edu427-7672409
Kevin Behnkekbehnke@ccsnh.edu427-7671407
Liberal Arts/Pre-NursingCatherine Ciotticciotti@ccsnh.edu427-7655145B
 Dr. Brett LeClairbleclair@ccsnh.edu427-7687144D
 Dr. Barry Spracklinbspracklin@ccsnh.edu427-7690144B
 Dr. Kim Williamskwilliams@ccsnh.edu427-7688144E
Liberal Arts/Pre-Veterinary TechnologyMaggie Duffy-Durkinmduffydurkin@ccsnh.edu427-7645100M
Liberal Arts/Pre-Surgical TechnologyKathy Yazinkakyazinka@ccsnh.edu427-7648100K
Massage  427-7728SE 100
Motorcycle Maintenance and Repair TechnologyPaul Giulianopgiuliano@ccsnh.edu427-7740100J
Nondestructive TestingKurt Douglaskdouglas@ccsnh.edu427-7660R128
NursingDr. Nancy DeSottondesotto@ccsnh.edu427-7685327
Dr. Dulcinea Kaufmandkaufman@ccsnh.edu427-7680305
Heather Lemirehlemire@ccsnh.edu427-7683309
Lori Mancusolmancuso@ccsnh.edu427-7681325
Carrie Marchandcmarchand@ccsnh.edu427-7679317
Kelly McDonoughkmcdonough@ccsnh.edu427-7684319
Laurie Murraylmurray@ccsnh.edu427-7682321
PsychologyDr. Aimee Huardahuard@ccsnh.edu427-7673401
Surgical TechnologyKristin Whitneykwhitney@ccsnh.edu427-7691304C
Teacher PreparationCatherine Brophycbrophy@ccsnh.edu427-7694417
Technical StudiesMaggie Duffy-Durkinmduffydurkin@ccsnh.edu427-7645100M
    
Veterinary Technology and Veterinary Practice ManagementDr. Deb Discherddischer@ccsnh.edu427-7696154E
Bonnie Millerbmiller@ccsnh.edu427-7695154E
WeldingPaul Giulianopgiuliano@ccsnh.edu427-7740100J
International Students (Any Major)Diana Vargadvarga@ccsnh.edu427-7626210I

Planning to Transfer?

The Great Bay Community College Advising and Transfer Center is your first stop.

  • Our transfer advisors can help you with the process.
  • In many cases we can help you transfer with less paperwork and no application fees.
  • Receive advising from day one on how to transfer the largest number of credits to save time and money

Advising and Transfer Center

SE100

603-427-7728

greatbayadvising@ccsnh.edu

Transfer Agreements with Other Colleges and Universities

Here are just a few examples of our transfer agreements.

  • UNH-Durham         
  • Plymouth State University
  • UNH-Manchester 
  • Keene State College
  • UMASS Lowell
  • Granite State College
  • St. Joseph’s College
  • Southern New Hampshire University
  • University of New England
  • New England College
  • Endicott College
  • Rivier University
  • Maine College of Art 
  • Unity College

However, you can start at GBCC and go anywhere!

Here are just a few of the other colleges and universities where GBCC students have transferred.

  • Cornell University 
  • University of Pennsylvania   
  • Northeastern University 
  • Berkley College of Music                       
  • University of Hawaii                     
  • Suffolk University 
  • Johnson and Wales  
  • UMASS Amherst
  • UMASS Dartmouth                                   

For more information on transferring within New Hampshire please visit:

Visit Dual Admission for additional information on any of the above dual admission agreements.
 

*Contact the Advising and Transfer Center for more information.

Q: What’s the difference between full-time and part-time?

The basic breakdown is determined by the number of credits to take during a semester:
                Full-time = 12+ credits/semester (usually 4+ classes)
                Part-time = 6-11 credits/semester (usually 2-3 classes)
                Less than part-time = 5 or fewer credits/semester (usually 1 class)

The decision to be a full-time student or a part-time student will impact your financial aid eligibility, your workload during the semester, and the amount of time it takes to complete your degree.

Q: How many classes should I take?

There are two major things to consider when deciding how many classes you should take each semester:

  1. Outside time/energy obligations. These are things like work, your commute, family responsibilities, hobbies, etc.  How much time will these take and how much time do I have for college?  There’s a great time/credit calculator (.xlsx)
  2. How quickly you want to complete your degree.  If your goal is to complete your degree in two years and you plan to follow your program sheet as recommended to meet that goal—you will need to be able to make time sacrifices elsewhere to achieve this goal.  College will need to be your first priority.  This might mean less time to socialize or spend with your family.  This might mean requesting fewer shifts at work.  If you have numerous non-academic commitments and time is less of an issue, being a part time student might be a better fit.

Q: How do know if I’m in the right program or headed towards the right career?

It can be hard to make decisions regarding your entire future all up front and it’s important to know that you always can change your mind. Making the “right” decision upfront though will save you time and money in the long run. GBCC has an online tool called Career Coach which is a 6 or 60 question assessment that ties your interests and strengths to fields, majors, and prospective careers. Career Coach also ties the results to job listings in the area—so you can be sure the path you’re on will lead to employment.

Q: How do I change my program?

After you’ve explored the options in Career Coach, and ran a degree audit with DegreeWorks, you would complete a Change of Major Form. You cannot change your major into selective programs, listed on the second page of the change of major form.

Q: How can I figure out how to raise my GPA?

Retaking classes where you earned less than a C and getting a higher grade will increase your GPA. Please note whatever grade you received on your last attempt will be the permanent grade on your official transcript. We have a great online tool to calculate how best to increase your GPA (excel spreadsheet “GPA Calculator” should become a form on site). Check with Financial Aid to be sure your retake is covered.

Contact Us

Phone: 603.427.7728
Fax: 603.559.1523
greatbayadvising@ccsnh.edu
SE100, Portsmouth Campus

Schedule an Appointment with an Advisor

Hours

We are working remotely at this time.

Staff

Deanna Friedman

Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs

603.427.7627
dfriedman@ccsnh.edu

Jenna Anand

Jenna Anand

Academic & Student Support Advisor

603.427.7771
janand@ccsnh.edu

Erica Brown

Erica Brown

Academic & Transfer Advisor

603.427.7624
esbrown@ccsnh.edu

Maggie Duffy-Durkin

Academic & Transfer Advisor

603.427-7645
mduffydurkin@ccsnh.edu

Kathy Yazinka

Academic Advisor

Suspension Recovery & Retention

603.427.7628
kyazinka@ccsnh.edu

Amy Darrigo

Amy Darrigo

Academic Advising Liaison

603.427.7728
adarrigo@ccsnh.edu

Testimonial

“DegreeWorks let me easily see that changing my major to Business Administration wouldn’t set me back to graduate. It helped make the decision so much easier!” – John Smith